Arcane Mage
Arcane Mage in World of Warcraft: Forever: every talent Blizzard names, from Missile Barrage in row 1 to Arcane Blast at 11 points and Arcane Wrath at 16, values from the last class notes of Oct 15, 2026, and what is still unknown.
Arcane Mage in World of Warcraft: Forever is built on two gold medal spells, Arcane Blast at 11 points and Arcane Wrath at 16, and both have changed since the first look. Countdown, reading the BlizzCon build on Sep 13, 2026, said Arcane Blast seemed "very expensive" and called the tree "flat out the Wrath Arcane Mage". Blizzard redesigned that spell on Oct 15 and moved Missile Barrage to the first row. This page lists each talent as of those notes; the class as a whole is on Mage.
Quick facts
| 11-point talent | Arcane Blast |
| 16-point talent | Arcane Wrath (since Oct 15, 2026) |
| 21 and 31-point talents | Not named by Blizzard |
| Arcane Blast | 1.5-second cast, 15% of Intellect as spell damage per stack, 4 stacks, 15 seconds |
| Arcane Wrath | 3.5-second cast, 6-second cooldown, plus spell power equal to 5% of maximum mana |
| Missile Barrage | Row 1, 2 points |
| Last class notes | Build of Oct 15, 2026; no launch notes as of Oct 31, 2026 |
Talents Blizzard names
From Blizzard's deep dive of Oct 7, 2026, with later values from the notes of Oct 15. Blizzard gives a point tier or a row only where shown.
| Talent | Where | Value or change |
|---|---|---|
| Missile Barrage | Row 1, 2 points (was the 16-point talent) | Arcane Blast, Fireball, Frostbolt, Frostfire Bolt and now Arcane Missiles hits may make the next Arcane Missiles channel twice as fast for no mana. Chance doubled for Arcane Blast in the deep dive |
| Wand Specialization | 2 points | Same benefit for fewer points |
| Arcane Focus | Redesigned | More chance to hit with Arcane spells |
| Improved Channeling | Was Improved Arcane Missiles | Also protects Arcane Blast from interruption by damage |
| Arcane Subtlety | Row 2 | Resistance ignored slightly up, threat reduction slightly down |
| Arcane Resilience | Row 2, 2 points | No longer a gold medal talent |
| Magic Absorption | Not stated | 1-second cooldown on its effect |
| Arcane Concentration | Not stated | Lower chance from spells of a much lower rank |
| Arcane Geometry | Row 3, new | Range on Arcane spells |
| Arcane Impact | Was Improved Arcane Explosion | Critical strike chance on all Arcane spells |
| Arcane Blast | 11 points, new | See below |
| Arcane Shielding | Was Improved Mana Shield | Cheaper Mana Shield, more resistance from Mage Armor |
| Improved Counterspell | Not stated | 1 point always gives a shorter Silence, not a 50% chance of one |
| Arcane Meditation | Needs Arcane Concentration | More mana regeneration from Spirit while casting |
| Arcane Wrath | 16 points, new on Oct 15 | See below |
| Arcane Mind | Redesigned | Intellect instead of maximum mana, and more Arcane critical strike damage |
| Arcane Instability | Not stated | No longer needs Presence of Mind |
| Arcane Power | Needs Presence of Mind | No other change listed |
Magic Attunement became baseline. Blizzard's notes also fixed Presence of Mind not being consumed, on Oct 15.
How it plays
Arcane Blast's two versions show what Blizzard wanted. The deep dive's spell was a 2.5-second cast that raised the damage of all other Mage spells for 8 seconds or until another spell was cast, encouraging Mages "to make use of other spells in their toolkit". A week later Blizzard made it a 1.5-second cast whose stacks each grant 15% of Intellect as spell damage and raise its cost, lasting 15 seconds from the first stack, with damage and spell damage coefficients down 40% and mana cost unchanged (Blizzard). Stacks now survive other casts.
Arcane Wrath is the mana payoff: base damage similar to Fireball, and damage "as if the Mage had additional Spell Power equal to 5% of the Mage's maximum Mana" (Blizzard). Blizzard does not say how the two spells should be ordered.
The redesign followed a complaint. On the podcast of Oct 1, a designer said "some of the mages are feeling like there's a little bit too few buttons" and "we are looking hard at that"; the host added that Arcane and Frost "are looking at two". The build of Oct 15 came two weeks later.
Arcane has one problem talents do not fix. Testers playing Arcane in the City of Dalaran told Blizzard "I can't hit anything", because an arcane elemental "probably should be immune to arcane". For dungeons, a designer said, "even if you're spec arcane, you have tools that you can use to get through the dungeon". See City of Dalaran.
Changes in the beta, by date
- Sep 24, 2026: Arcane Missiles checks line of sight only when the channel starts (Blizzard).
- Oct 8: Arcane Missiles ranks 1 to 4 smoothed so that each is an upgrade (Blizzard).
- Oct 15: Arcane Blast redesigned, Arcane Wrath added, Missile Barrage moved to row 1, and a bug fixed that let Missile Barrage discount a second channel (Blizzard).
Blizzard's role for it
Blizzard describes Arcane as a way "to manipulate and consume Mana for more damage" (Blizzard). It names no separate raid role for this specialization, only for Mages as a whole, in Mage.
Thin creator views
These are few, were made on unfinished builds, and agree on little. No consensus exists as of Oct 31, 2026.
- RankedBoost grades Arcane A on its damage list, graded Oct 3, before the redesign (RankedBoost).
- NoobToBoss puts all Mage specs in its third tier, Oct 19, at a level 30 cap (NoobToBoss).
- Kargoz ranks Arcane last of the three Mage specs for PvP, Oct 13, also before the redesign (Kargoz on Mobalytics).
- Icy Veins said "Arcane has received one of the most important improvements", Oct 15 (Icy Veins).
What is not known yet
- Arcane's 21 and 31-point talents: Blizzard's articles do not number them.
- How Arcane plays at level 60, which the beta did not reach; see Beta.
- Launch values. Blizzard's class notes end with the build of Oct 15, 2026, and it has published no launch patch notes as of Oct 31, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
What does Arcane Blast do in WoW Forever? A 1.5-second cast that adds 15% of Intellect as spell damage per stack, up to 4, for 15 seconds, and raises its own cost, as of Oct 15, 2026.
Is Missile Barrage in WoW Forever? Yes, a 2-point talent in row 1 since Oct 15, 2026.
What is Arcane Wrath? Arcane's 16-point talent, added on Oct 15, 2026: a 3.5-second cast on a 6-second cooldown that scales with maximum mana.
Can Arcane Mages do dungeons with Arcane immune enemies? Blizzard says yes, using a Mage's other tools.
Sources
- World of Warcraft: Forever Class Deep Dives - Mage and Shaman, Blizzard Entertainment, Oct 7, 2026
- WoW Forever Beta Development Notes - Updated October 26, Blizzard Entertainment (Kaivax), World of Warcraft forums, Sep 24 to Oct 27, 2026
- Speed Running Classes ft. @sodapoppin | Episode 2 - The WoW: Forever Podcast, World of Warcraft, Oct 1, 2026 (video)
- Dive into Dungeons with Devs ft. @hammerdancegaming | Episode 3 - The WoW: Forever Podcast, World of Warcraft, Oct 8, 2026 (video)
- New WoW Forever Talent Trees Analysed - FUN DETECTED!!, Countdown, Sep 13, 2026 (video)
- WoW Forever Best DPS Tier List, RankedBoost, graded Oct 3, 2026, page updated Oct 17, 2026
- DPS and Leveling tier lists, NoobToBoss, updated Oct 19, 2026
- Which Class Is RIGHT For You? PvP Deep Dive, Kargoz on Mobalytics, Oct 13, 2026
- Choosing Your Main, Icy Veins (Neryssa), updated Oct 15, 2026
Moments
New WoW Forever Talent Trees Analysed - FUN DETECTED!!
Countdown
Speed Running Classes ft. @sodapoppin | Episode 2 - The WoW: Forever Podcast
World of Warcraft
Dive into Dungeons with Devs ft. @hammerdancegaming | Episode 3 - The WoW: Forever Podcast
World of Warcraft
See also
-
World of Warcraft: ForeverWorld of Warcraft: Forever is Blizzard's third WoW experience: Azeroth's first year expanded with new zones, quests, dungeons, raids and the Skyborne race, at level 60 for good. It launches on Nov 4, 2026. -
MageThe Mage in World of Warcraft: Forever: open to Orcs and Alliance Skyborne, Frost Blast at level 24, Frostfire Bolt at 40, the Comprehension skill, Arcane Blast redesigned, Arcane Wrath, Heating Up for Fire, Ice Lance for Frost, and why Blizzard cut Blizzard and Cone of Cold. -
City of DalaranThe City of Dalaran is a World of Warcraft: Forever dungeon for levels 28 to 33 in the Alterac Mountains: the Kirin Tor's barrier is down, magic is backfiring, and players earn the mages' trust with attunement quests from Southshore (Alliance) or Tarren Mill (Horde), then enter through the sewers. In the beta since Oct 8, 2026.
-
BetaThe World of Warcraft: Forever beta, which ran from Sep 17, 2026 until 10:00 a.m. PDT on Oct 23: how players got in, the launch-day queues, what each weekly build opened, the level 30 cap since Oct 1, the City of Dalaran, the last weekly build of Oct 15, the action against gold buyers, the Stress Test of Oct 21 on Forever's launch hardware, how the beta ended, and what changed between the beta and launch.
-
Affliction WarlockAffliction Warlock in World of Warcraft: Forever: Wrack at 31 points, Curse of Exhaustion at 16, Pandemic's critical damage, Soul Siphon, Grim Reach replacing Malediction, Fear's range, and values as of Blizzard's notes of Oct 15, 2026.
-
Arms WarriorArms Warrior in World of Warcraft: Forever: Spearing Strike at 16 points, Weaponmaster replacing four specializations, Bloodthrill's 4 to 20% Overpower chance, Improved Slam at 2 points, Improved Tactical Mastery's 25 Rage, and what a designer said about Slam.